The Bookworm (a poem for World Book Day 2012)

Rory was a bookworm who lived on a shelf

And as he wriggled through the books, and he said to himself:

‘All the other silly worms get gobbled up by birds

But I’m a brilliant bookworm, and I eat words

I go MUNCH, I go CRUNCH, I eat letters for my lunch

I eat brochures for my breakfast, I eat tomes for my tea

Yes I’m a brilliant bookworm and you can’t beat me!’

 

The owner of the bookshop didn’t know what to do

Somebody was guzzling books, but who, who, WHO?

She picked up a book – bite marks on the spine!

So she rushed to the phone and dialled ‘nine nine nine’

‘It goes MUNCH, it goes CRUNCH, it eats letters for its lunch

It eats brochures for its breakfast, it eats tomes for its tea

So get me a detective, we must solve this mystery!’

 

The police hurried in and said ‘’ello, ‘ello, ‘ello

‘Oo’s been eating books round here?’ ‘I don’t know!’

The detective stayed for weeks, for months and a term

But she didn’t find the culprit, no, she didn’t spot the worm

Which went MUNCH, which went CRUNCH, which ate letters for its lunch

Which ate brochures for its breakfast and ate tomes for its tea

And left volumes of fresh evidence for everyone to see

 

But one sunny day came a girl to the shop

And she spotted Rory worm and said ‘Stop, stop, STOP!

I don’t mean to be nasty, I don’t mean to be rude

But you can’t eat that dictionary; BOOKS AREN’T FOOD!

You can’t MUNCH, you can’t CRUNCH, you can’t eat letters for your lunch

Or eat brochures for your breakfast, or tomes for your tea

Books are for reading, oh worm, can’t you see?’

 

Rory looked ashamed, Rory shook his head

Rory shuffled, tried to hide, then mournfully he said:

‘Please don’t judge me harshly, I’m never filled with greed

But I’ve got a little problem; I don’t know how to read

So I MUNCH, so I CRUNCH, I eat letters for my lunch

I eat brochures for my breakfast, I eat tomes for my tea

Please sit down here on this chair and read a book to me’

 

‘Certainly!’ the girl cried, and sat next to Rory

Then opened up a picture book and read the worm a story

Rory listened carefully, and soon was so engrossed

That he said ‘I won’t eat books now, I’ll just make do with toast

So no MUNCH, so no CRUNCH, won’t eat letters for my lunch

Won’t eat brochures for my breakfast, won’t eat tomes for my tea

I’m a brilliant bookworm, so please read some more to me’

 

Rory was a clever worm and soon could read himself

With bated breath he read through all the stories on the shelf

Although he wanted books to eat – he said he missed the taste

So he ate up small kids’ homework so it wouldn’t go to waste

(‘I’ll go MUNCH, I’ll go CRUNCH, I’ll eat literacy for lunch

Biology for breakfast, technology for tea)

I’m a bookworm, I’m the reading bug – have you got me?’

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments to “The Bookworm (a poem for World Book Day 2012)”

  1. This has put a BIG smile on my face! Lovely, lovely poem Elli!

  2. Thanks – glad you liked it! Look out for my second poem too.

  3. I love this poem so much. Perfect for World Book Day. Are you published? You really should be.

    • Thanks – really glad you liked it, and I feel very flattered that you think I should be published! Alas though, I’m not published (and it would probably be jinxing things to add a hopeful ‘yet’ to that). I should probably try a lot harder (i.e. actually submit stuff), but I know that getting my kind of work published is next to impossible.

Leave a Reply

