Honesty

Make my bed? I would if I could,

But really and truly, I don’t think I should.

There’s a big armadillo right under my pillow

That’s snuffling and sniffing out ants.

It blows through its nose till the sheets start to billow

(It’s wearing my best pair of pants).

Why, oh why, are you shaking you head?

Don’t you believe a word that I said?

There’s a green parakeet that’s sat on my sheet,

I’m trying to teach it to talk.

It can squeak through its beak: ‘Give me something to eat’

Though the sound of it’s more like a squawk.

Why, oh why, are you shaking your head?

Don’t you believe a word that I said?

Slumped on my quilt, and wearing a kilt,

Is a very strange beast from Loch Ness.

It’s wriggling and worming and squiggling and squirming

And making a terrible mess.

Why, oh why, are you shaking your neck?

Don’t you believe a word of – oh, heck!

Well Nessie was grumbling her stomach was rumbling

I didn’t, though, think she’d eat you

But really, I said that I can’t make my bed

Next time believe that it’s true.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

