Something to Chew Over

My parents are both very different,

They always have quarrels and bicker;

My father’s a celery seller,

My mother’s a liquorice licker.

She always says ‘Celery? Healthy and icky!’

My father says ‘Liquorice? Yucky and sticky!’

But eating them both is tremendously tricky

So when they’re not arguing, guess what they’re doing?

That’s right, you’ve guessed it! They’re sitting there chewing.

I know it’s quite funny, but please do not snicker;

They’re chewing to see who will finish the quicker –

My father the celery seller,

Or my mother the liquorice licker.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

