Captain Book (a poem for World Book Day 2013)

Oo arrrh, oo arrrh, me ‘earties. Who do ye think I be?

I’m Captain Book, with a page for a hook –

It’s the library life for me!

I ride on the waves of the stories, the words put the wind in my sails.

I laugh and I cry, I smile and I sigh,

As I travel the world with the tales.

I can journey wherever I want to, through space or to country or town.

I zip and I zoom though I don’t leave this room;

Books break the barriers down.

Oo arrh, oo arrh, me ‘earties. What do you think we’ll see?

Open a book and then wonder and look.

Come, have adventures with me.

 

 

 

 

2 Comments to “Captain Book (a poem for World Book Day 2013)”

  1. So sweet, and as I was reading the first part my middle son appeared in the doorway wearing a pirate hat randomly!

    The magic of World Book Day…

Leave a Reply

