Gift Wrap

Back then when you loved me, I held each precious gift,

But now I’ve been rejected. I’m feeling somewhat…miffed.

You only pay attention now to presents I had in.

I’m just a piece of gift wrap, sad and lonely gift wrap,

Old, forgotten gift wrap, lying in the bin.

 

You eyed me up so happily, but then, when you had lunched,

I felt you come and tear at me, and now I’m lying…scrunched.

Oh where did this abandonment, this heartlessness begin?

I’m just a piece of gift wrap, poor and friendless gift wrap,

Bitter, broken gift wrap, lying in the bin.

 

But now here comes a baby, with tiny, chubby hands.

She takes me out, she smiles at me. Yes, someone understands!

Her eyes are bright. She hugs me. Just see her happy grin!

Oh I’m a piece of gift wrap, fun and crinkly gift wrap,

Lovely, precious gift wrap, rescued from the bin.

2 Comments to “Gift Wrap”

  1. I just enjoy reading your poem over and over again,it’s really nice when you come up with an amazing poem on gift wrap.

Leave a Reply

