This Cat

I don’t want that cat,

That lounging on the mat cat;

The one I want is this cat,

The scritching scratching hiss cat.

The slashing slicing claw cat,

Not the pretty paw cat.

Take away the valley cat;

I want the dingy alley cat,

The tattered splattered fur cat,

Not the gently purr cat.

I don’t want that cat,

That tins-of-tuna fat cat,

Instead I want the lean cat,

The menacing and mean cat,

With eyes like yellow slits cat,

The one that yells and spits cat.

I don’t want the fluffy cat,

Instead I want the scruffy cat,

Not the meek and mild cat;

The spirited and wild cat,

The howl and yowl and bite cat,

The creature of the night cat.

I don’t want that cat,

That give-its-head-a-pat cat;

The one I want is this cat.

The scritching scratching hiss cat.

This cat, this cat,

Hissssssssssssssssssssssssss.

 

 

 

2 Comments to “This Cat”

  1. I’m not exactly sure why I like this so much, but I do.

  2. I don’t know why, but that made me smile. Its a nice poem..😀

Leave a Reply

